Thetis Blacker Temenos Batik Scholarship

Applications for 2019

Islamic patternIslamic patternIslamic pattern

The Temenos Academy is a teaching organisation dedicated to the “learning of the imagination” and awards a bi-annual scholarship, in memory of Thetis Blacker, to facilitate members of the Batik Guild and other batik artists studying the art of batik. It is envisioned that this will be primarily, but not exclusively, to support overseas research, study, field work and travel relevant to the creation of batiks.

The award will be granted by a joint panel appointed by both the Temenos Academy and the Batik Guild and arranged by mutual agreement. Once the judges have made their decision, all applicants will be informed and payment will be made as a lump sum direct to the winner within 30 days.

On completion of the project, the recipient of the award will submit a short report to the Trustees of the Temenos Academy and to the Batik Guild for publication in their magazine.

The next award of up to £2,000 will be made in 2019 with the deadline for applications being 31 January 2019. Application forms will be available from the Batik Guild Secretary from October 2018 onwards.

For further information, and to request an application form, please write to

Heather Gatt
Secretary, The Batik Guild
Sun Rise
Vicar Lane
HU12 0TF

See also

The Batik Guild website uses cookies. For more information see our Privacy policy